My List of Ten Most Good-looking Actors

Posted on February 10, 2011

5


Here is my list of the 10 most good-looking actors, in no particular order.

Some of them are universally acknowledged to be delectable; while others totally rock my boat; and yet others, whom only I can appreciate, or so it seems.

Jeremy Irons

Dapper, suave, erudite, talented, and a voice that can make all women between the age of 5 to 90 go weak in the knee. And any man who can wear scarves with such panache has to be on my list.

Favourite role: As Professor Humbert in Lolita. The mad, lovelorn opening line in Jeremy’s voice: “Lolita, light of my life, fire of my loins. My sin, my soul. Lo-lee-ta: the tip of the tongue taking a trip of three steps down the palate to tap, at three, on the teeth. Lo. Lee. Ta.”

Paul Newman


Sigh! Well, that’s all I can do. I don’t know what his co-stars did when faced with such gorgeousness — run into walls, forget their lines, stare stupidly.

Favourite role: As Brick in Cat on a Hot Tin Roof. A very luscious Liz Taylor begging him for some loving…yeah, well, who wouldn’t, especially, when he is in his brooding, semi-clad glory.

Robert Downey Jr


Apart from the obvious, the man is a rockstar and the original comeback kid. He has been to hell and back and displays no shades of Byronism. He is goofy, serious, sweetie-pie, philosohical, and a risk-taker.

Favourite role: As Paul Avery in Zodiac. In one of the scenes, his Paul, the cocky, ace reporter, stands with his back to the camera and such is Downey’s body language that his tush is miraculously hoisted up [no hidden wire work involved]. His next role that I am looking forward to is Sherlock Holmes.

And that brings me to Dr Watson, who is played by…

Jude Law

Do you really need a reason? I mean just look at him. The new Sherlock Holmes movie is going to be a sensory overload and I am not complaining. Frankly, it ought to be against the law to look like that.

Favourite role: As Dickie in The Talented Mr Ripley. He was perfect for the part — an Adonis who enjoys the effect he has on people but too cruel to care about their feelings.

The young Robert De Niro

He has the sweetest smile and the craziest eyes — the effect is devastating. My favourite De Niro look is from the 1980 Oscar ceremony, where he won the Best Actor Oscar for Raging Bull.

Favourite role: Travis Bickle, Jake LaMotta, Vito Corleone — while each of these roles are some of the most seminal performances in cinema, my favourite is Noodles in Once Upon a Time in America. As Noodles, De Niro is able to convey barely supressed violence, tenderness, guilt, and loneliness.

Jean-Pierre Léaud

Yes, yes, I know. He is a very odd choice and one that only I can appreciate. What I like about Léaud are his mannerisms, his quiet intense look, the way he sucks on his cigarette, and runs his fingers thru’ his hair.

Favourite role: As Claude in Two English Girls. His brillantly understated and complex performance as a wry, deattached, and thoughtlessly cruel lover reminds you of the very real people you meet and know.

Richard Armitage

Absolutely gorgeous and a first-rate actor. He is stunningly versatile: from playing a stern Victorian mill-owner to the evil Sir Guy of Gisbourne; from an intense spy to a charming strange who sweeps the Vicar of Dibley off her feet.

Favourite role: John Thornton in the BBC mini-series North and South. The role made him an overnight sensation and it’s easy to see why. His inspired performance apart, it was his devastating good looks that caught me completely unaware. And let me tell you, nobody, and I mean nobody, can do the sexy scowl better than him.

Cary Grant

Debonair, easy-going, mischievous, and sexy as hell. He is a class all by himself. And if anybody compares Clooney with Grant, I will have to come and kill you. Clooney doesn’t even qualify as a rough draft.

Favourite role: As Devlin in Notorious. Just watch the film and you will know why.

Jackie Shroff

The man used to be a world-class looker. I wish he had taken care of himself. If Bollywood had ever adapted Gone with the Wind, then he would have been the obvious choice for Rhett Butler. Come to think of it, he was India’s Marlboro Man.

Favourite role: As Ram in Ram Lakhan. Boy! Wasn’t he a hunk in the police uniform? Next to Shroff, Anil Kapoor looked like a hairy buffoon.

Marlon Brando

He was poetry on celluloid. The thoughtful eyes, the yearning voice, and the disarming smile. And even though he piled on weight and became even more eccentric in his later years, he was always the Titan, the icon, the genius, da Man!

Favourite role: As Stanley Kowalski in A Streetcar Named Desire. Which actor can say “I could have been a contender” with such heart-breaking hopelessness, take out the chewing gum from his mouth before dying, scream “Stella…Stella” with such primal brute desire, and make sweaty undervest look sexy for God sake!

PS: I cannot end this post without talking about one of my absolute favourite actor: James Stewart. He is not eye-candy material, but he is something more — he is immensely likeable. I can’t think of any actor for whom I would use the word ‘likeable.’ I love his shuffling walk, the moth-eaten quality, the way he rolls words in his mouth, and even the stoop.

Posted in: Indulgences